Canterbury Jockey Club

At the forefront of New Zealand racing since 1854. Ride with the action!

Race Dates

2023/2024 season at Riccarton Park

Riccarton Park welcomes you 

With 31 Racedays scheduled for the 2023/24 season there's a Raceday for everyone. 

Grass track, Listed Races, Stakes Races, Premier & Iconic Racedays as well as Polytrack Racing.

Join us for some great Racing and Hospitality!

2024/25 dates now released.


Download 2024/25 Race Dates Download 2023/24 Race Dates


Red Nose Raceday

26 JULY 2024

Wrap up warm and get on-course for Riccarton Park's Red Nose Raceday, Friday 26 July.

Canterbury Jockey Club, together with LOVERACING.NZ, are supporting Red Nose Day, Cure Kids’ biggest annual appeal. Enjoy a great day of Polytrack winter racing while supporting a wonderful cause!

Together we can ensure a brighter, healthier future for our children.



Enjoy exclusive member access and benefits

Members of the Canterbury Jockey Club enjoy many benefits from free entry to race meetings and discounts on stand passes, access to members only lounges and up-to-the-minute information relating to racing events.


About Canterbury Jockey Club 

For over 168 years the Canterbury Jockey Club has been at the forefront of New Zealand racing conducting some of the most prestigious races in the country. Riccarton Park is home to 31 racedays with highlights including the New Zealand Cup Meeting in November, Grand National Festival of Racing (Jumps Racing) in August and the four day Autumn Racing Season.

The Clubs racing calendar is defined by:

  • The iconic Martin Collins New Zealand Cup® over the staying test of 3200 metres.
  • Group 1, Al Basti Equiworld New Zealand 2000 Guineas® over the classic distance of 1600 metres.
  • Group 1, Barneswood Farm New Zealand 1000 Guineas® for the three-year-old fillies.
  • Group 3, TAB Mile over 1600 metres for the Open horses
  • These four races form the backbone of the New Zealand Cup Meeting.
  • Racecourse Hotel & Motor Lodge Grand National Steeplechase in August.
  • Hospitality New Zealand Canterbury Grand National Hurdle Race also in August.
  • 22 Group, Listed and Prestige Jumping Races are held each year.
  • On 11 of these races the Club pays above the industry funded minimum stake.
  • 18 of the Clubs 31 racedays are Feature, Premier or Iconic racemeetings.
  • Racing is conducted every month.
  • 11 days of racing are held on the Synthetic track from May to September each year.

The 2024 Grand National Festival of Racing is 3, 7, 10 August and the 2023 NZ Cup Meeting is on 11, 15 & 18 November.